Some pen portraits


The material below covers:

Current LFC committee members

The current LFC committee members include Chris Chapple, Fay Loveland, Felicity Gordon and Richard Rowe.

Chris Chapple
Chris is the manager of Eltham Farmers’ Market and Vice President of the Victorian Farmers’ Markets Association.
Fay Loveland
Fay is the entertainment coordinator and food swap coordinator for the Eltham Farmers’ Market. Her background includes a wide range of science and environmental education work, and she is a keen backyard gardener.
Felicity Gordon
Felicity is an artist and permaculturalist who is passionate about creating a more local and sustainable food system. She co-ordinates the Watsonia Library Community Garden and works at Edendale Farm in Eltham as an Environmental Educator. She is also an active community artist working on a range of projects, with an emphasis on sustainability, and is currently studying for a Masters of Visual Art.
Richard Rowe
Richard’s two day jobs are a) an Environmental Educator working at the Edendale Farm teaching school kids about living more sustainably and b) as the Learning an Training Coordinator for Sustainable Gardening Australia. In his spare time, he is a Scout Leader and Group Leader at the Viewbank Scout Group and the parent to three active teenagers.


Nillumbik U3A people active within the local food community

Some of the other people active in LFC agreed (in June 2015) to have their photos included in a Nillumbik U3A article. Click here to view/download the article, with selected extracts below.

Duang Tengtrirat
Duang is a well known local caterer (Real Food Catering) who was one of the cooks at the 2015 March Harvest Feast, a major annual event held at Eltham High School. She also supplies vegetables for sale at the Little Organic Shop in Hurstbridge.
Evan Gellert
Evan is a volunteer at the heritage apple orchards at Petty’s Orchard in Templestowe. He is also one of the people who mans the information stall at Eltham Farmers’ Market.
Guy Palmer
Guy produces a free, weekly e-newsletter which covers both upcoming events across North East Melbourne and articles on growing veggies, local food producers, etc. He also maintains the LFC website. Guy is on the committee of the local U3A, and has run a U3A course on the science behind growing veggies and fruit. In a previous life, he was involved in the setting up of breakfast clubs and has written about food poverty.
Robyn Currie
Robyn has been a stalwart of many local food organisations over the years. This has included maintaining a calendar of local food events for LFC, establishing the planter box outside of healthAbility and organising events for North East Ranges Permaculture.
Sabi Buehler
Sabi (on the right of the picture) is an active participant in the local food swaps, including Eltham and Greensborough. She has written an article on food foraging for this website.


Other U3A members who are also active within the local food community include: Andrew Sharard, David Hicks, Linda Laos and Vera Herman.

People currently active within LFC

In the table below, individuals are named once only even if (as many of them do) they participate in more than one of the activities.

Contributors to the LFC newsletter Guy Palmer Dana Thomson David Murray Helen Simpson
Lara McKinley Mac McVeigh Marina Bistrin Paul Gale-Baker
Robin Gale-Baker Robyn Currie Stuart Rodda
Planter boxes Anna Clarke Andrew Sharard David Hicks Evan Gellert
Glenn Mansfield John Clarke Karyn Knight Meredith Plain
Nathan Ezard Pam Jenkins Richard Lee
Community Market Stall Andrew Stahmer Cath Lyons Deb Stahmer Elodie
Jan Peggie John Peggie Peter Dougherty Pia Sappl
Sandra Macneil Stuart Rodda Susan Palmer Tash Hardidge
Eltham Food Swap Bev Robertson Claire Butler Fay Loveland Tess Gardiner
Information Marquee at Eltham Farmer’s Market Adam Howie Carol Woolcock Christina Spry Felicity Gordon
Gillian Essex Jasmine Powell Karen Olsen Karen Thomson
Katherine Barling Kris Dixon Linda Laos Mala Plymin
Natalie Kellett Nina Gormley Samantha Patterson Sabi Buehler
Other Honourable Mentions Dione Fisher Hans Hoffman Michelle Hegarty Vera Herman

 Leave a Reply